Diabetes Blog Week 2015 Day ONE: “I Can…”

In the UK, there was a diabetes blog theme of “I can…”  that participants found wonderfully empowering.  So lets kick things off this year by looking at the positive side of our lives with diabetes.  What have you or your loved one accomplished, despite having diabetes, that you weren’t sure you could?  Or what have you done that you’ve been particularly proud of?  Or what good thing has diabetes brought into your life?  (Thank you to the anonymous person who submitted this topic suggestion.)

Because I have grown up as a patient, I can better relate to my patients working as a nurse.

I can say to the patients that I care for who have diabetes that I have given myself multiple shots a day and have poked my finger countless times over my 2 decades of living with diabetes.

I can understand my disease on a different level because I am a nurse.

I can joke about being the bionic woman with all my diabetes technology.

I can see myself and my patients as people, and not just the disease or condition that they have.

I can connect with patients on a very intimate level since some of what they are going through I have been through myself.

I can be a better nurse because of living with diabetes than if I did not have diabetes as a part of my life.

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

