Ultrasound Results, GI issues…

Apparently today is #dblogcheck day where we all (in the DOC – Diabetes Online Community) are encouraged to “check in” with the blogs we read.  I often don’t post comments because I feel like unless I have some kind of insight, something useful to add, question, etc. it seems silly to just comment saying “Hi!” or “Nice post”.  But today, I’m commenting on every diabetes blog I read, and I encourage you all to do the same, even if it is just a “hi” or “#dblogcheck”.  I think this is a great idea so you feel like your blog actually is reaching people even if they never comment.

I got a message on my MyChart account this morning from my endocrinologist.  She said that the results of my thyroid ultrasound were entirely normal, and that it actually has not grown appreciably in size like she was guesstimating based on her feeling my thyroid.

Interesting… still no answers, but also no additional faulty equipment in my body.

I also had an appointment with my gastroenterologist yesterday morning.  I have been having GI issues fairly regularly again since August.  We still don’t know why.  Since about 2008 or 2009 I have had intermittent GI issues (I’ll spare you the details) and there have been a few theories about what’s causing them.  I even had an actual diagnosis at one point, but then was essentially un-diagnosed with that condition.  We don’t know what’s going on.  The only abnormal results in my blood work showed the CRP (a non-specific marker for inflammation in the body) was elevated a bit, yet the more GI tract specific inflammation marker was normal.  We’re going to monkey around a bit with some medications to help, and if things do not improve, get worse, or change, more tests.  Celiac, Gastroparesis, Small intestinal bacterial overgrowth, and autonomic neuropathy have all been wither definitively ruled out, or deemed highly unlikely.  The possible reasons that still remain include Crohn’s, Colitis (both of those aren’t very likely, but still possible), Inflammatory bowel disease, an issue with my small intestines, some kind of undiscovered food sensitivity, or my IUD that I had placed back in August just before the symptoms began again.

On a happier note, the weather here in Wisconsin is FINALLY warming up!  This week is supposed to be mainly in the 50s!  WOO!  I am thinking of buying a used road bike with some of my tax refund money and signing up for an ADA or JDRF ride event.  I still want to do something special in my 20th year living with type 1 diabetes.  I had been hoping to go to the Children With Diabetes Friends For Life Conference at Disney in July, but I can’t get the vacation days.  I had also applied for a scholarship for the Diabetes Unconference in Las Vegas, but didn’t get a scholarship for that.  Those were 2 of the big ideas of how to commemorate my 20th year.  The last idea I had was to do either the ADA Tour de Cure in Madison in May, or the JDRF Ride to Cure in LaCrosse in August.

If anyone has any other ideas about the GI issues or something I can do to commemorate my 20 years with diabetes, please leave a comment.

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ultrasound Results, GI issues…

  1. Laddie says:

    I have been blessed to know very little about GI issues and I hope you get some answers soon.

    I think one of the bike rides sounds like an excellent twenty year celebration. Look forward to hearing about it.

Leave a Reply

