Ultrasound

I had my thyroid ultrasound last week.  No results yet and I’m anxiously waiting to hear what my doctor will say about my pushing to try low dose thyroid hormone to halt the growth of my thyroid.

So, the ultrasound.  You lay on an exam table with a towel under your shoulder to hyper-extend your neck back to allow for better visualization of your thyroid and all the other structures and vessels in your neck.  Then, they glob on a bunch of (nicely warmed) ultrasound gel, and use a typical ultrasound wand to check everything out.  No pain, but I have to say, the parts where the ultrasound tech had to push down to see certain structures – kind of uncomfortable, and not really in the hmm, this hurts kind of way, but in the wow – I bet this is what it feels like to get strangled, only MUCH MUCH worse! kind of way.  No pain, but the pressure on my neck, windpipe, etc. for her to be able to see everything she needed to see was disconcerting.  It wasn’t a bad experience by any means, and not something I’d refuse to have done again because it was so uncomfortable, but yeah -the pressure on the neck thing was definitely new and not very fun!

So, now it’s Saturday, and I sent a MyChart message on Wednesday (the ultrasound tech said if I hadn’t heard from my clinic by Wednesday or Thursday to give them a call or shoot them a message asking for my results) asking about if the results were in, what they were, and what the plan was.  No word back, other than a message from the nurse saying “I’ve passed your message along to Dr. M”.

GREAT!  Now we wait through the weekend.  In other news, dinner with the parents tonight in Milwaukee, and then back to work Sunday, Monday (with a GI doctor appt. Monday morning), Tuesday… then off Wednesday and Thursday, and back for working the weekend Friday and Saturday.

Have I mentioned that with matters of my health, lab results, etc. that I HATE waiting!

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

