Thyroid

I had a great appointment with my endocrinologist yesterday.  My A1C is higher than it’s been in about a decade, but there was NO judgement.  I knew my A1C was not where I wanted or needed it to be, and Dr. M and her resident were AWESOME!  There was no questioning, no judgement, no glares, no anything negative.  It was all positive – supportive, helpful, reassuring, kind, understanding… Dr. M takes such an approach of – I want to help you make this better.  What can we do to make this better?  Do you know why things haven’t been going well?  I’m here to help and support you and help you get back on track.  I have missed that supportive environment from a doctor for the past couple years, and it’s so great to be back.

Diabetes is such an individual disease, both from one person to the next, but also from one day to the next.  I don’t understand how an endocrinologist or CDE can help you figure things out with diabetes management and blood sugars if they don’t take the time to try to get to know the PERSON living day to day with the disease.  That’s what was missing from my endocrinologist in Indiana.  I felt like she only ever saw the numbers, and never saw ME.

The other big topic for the appointment was my thyroid.  It’s been about 4 years since I saw Dr. M last, and she previously estimated my enlarged thyroid at about 30g give or take, soft, generally symmetrical.  Now, my thyroid is estimated at about 50g!  It has almost doubled in size, yet my thyroid blood levels are still in the normal range.  I am getting thyroid antibodies drawn, and having a thyroid ultrasound in a week to see if we can figure things out.  For the past probably 5 years, I have had a random group of symptoms affecting multiple body systems that no one can find an explanation for.  Amazingly, thyroid issues would account for many if not all of those symptoms.  Here’s the kicker though: if my antibodies come back positive, Dr. M will start me on thyroid hormone to try to shrink the goiter and see if that helps with my symptoms.  If the antibodies come back negative, no treatment since my TSH and T4 are as always, within normal limits.  I guess I’m frustrated that with my thyroid basically doubling in size over 4 years, 1 blood test is determining if something can be done about it or not.  As crazy as it sounds, I’m honestly praying the antibody test comes back positive.  No, I don’t want another faulty / broken piece of equipment in my body, but I DO want an answer, and this would be about the simplest answer, and easiest treatment possible.

What do I do if the antibody test comes back negative?  Is there anything else that can be done about my crazy growing thyroid?  From what I understand, thyroids only enlarge if there’s some kind of neoplastic / cancer issue / cyst / etc. going on OR if it’s having to grow to keep up with producing the right amount of thyroid hormone to keep your body functioning as it should.  So am I just going to have a thyroid that eventually grows massively large just to keep up with the demand?  Thyroid hormone will shrink a goiter because your thyroid doesn’t have to work as hard to produce all the necessary hormone on its own – it’s essentially getting some help / back up from the medication.

Thyroid people… Goiter people… Thoughts, things I should think about, look into, questions to ask, etc.?  Thanks!

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

