Endocrinologist

After moving back to Madison in October, I was so excited to be accepted back into the now closed to new patients practice of the endocrinologist I saw here for about 6 years when I was living in the area previously.  I have my first appointment back with her this afternoon.

In Indiana, I never really found an endocrinologist that I felt like I clicked with.  The lady there that I saw for the couple years I was living there I felt like always was judging me, and never really tried to get to know me as a person.  With something like diabetes that is such an individual disease, how can you know how to help someone if you don’t at least try to know SOMETHING about them as a person!?  My diabetes care there was not what I was hoping for, I didn’t go to the endo as often as I should have because of how I felt with this doctor, and now it’s time to get back on track.

The endo here in Madison, well, and her whole team – I feel like they cared about me as a person, patient, and diabetic.  They understood my stresses and anxiety about losing my 2 type 1 aunts at very young ages.  I am nervous to be going back to the endocrinologist because my A1C right now is not great, but I’m so excited to be back in a supportive environment in a place where I feel like I’m cared for and about.

This appointment also comes at a very good time because I have been having some issues lately with some obnoxiously persistent low blood sugars that end up resulting in massive spikes later on… more about that later.  I’m hoping Dr. M will have some insights about that, what could be causing them, how to fix them, etc.

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

