Jumping In

I posted a week or so ago about this guide that I wrote for families with diabetes.

I just took a HUGE leap of faith, and mailed out packets with a cover letter describing the guide and my connection to diabetes, a presentation bound copy of the guide, and my resume to EIGHT (8!!) pediatric diabetes / endocrine clinics in northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin (Oh, and 1 in Indiana).

My hope is that at the very least, I get some “thank you for your passion and idea, but we’re not interested” notes back; in the middle, maybe I can work with some of these people to get this guide out there where it can be used; and best case scenario, I get a job out of this kind of professional cold-calling of diabetes clinics.

I am so passionate about wanting to share my adventures and experiences with diabetes as well as my LOVE of caring for people and connecting with people.  I want to do ANYTHING I can to make living with this disease a little less… well, crappy.  Let’s be frank here: diabetes is NOT an easy disease to live with.  You can do everything “right” and still have numbers that aren’t.  You can follow a “diabetic diet” and still gain or lose more weight than is ideal. You can exercise to be more healthy overall, and have the opposite effect because exercise can cause CRAZY blood sugars.

Having lived with diabetes for almost 20 years, and having worked in the medical field in various capacities for 7 years, I want to bring it all together and do whatever I can to connect with families facing diabetes day in and day out, and bring hope to them.

My parents and I went to a well known Chinese Bistro chain restaurant this past weekend while they were in town, and my fortune said “Your future is bright and filled with happiness”.  Does that mean now, or do I have to also exercise some patience here and hold tight a little longer than I’d like?

Even if nothing REAL comes of this kind of outreach, well… no, no negative thoughts!  Something good will come out of this, even if it’s a small something good and positive!

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

