Caregivers Guide

A few years back, a friend of mine was interviewing for a nanny position for a family that included a young girl with diabetes.  She came to me looking for resources and information about how to care for a child with type 1 on an insulin pump.  I looked all over the internet, but most of the resources were either way too basic (education about the disease and nothing about really living with it or caring for it) or far too extensive and intimidating geared more towards parents.

I set out to write a guide geared towards those “part-time caregivers” such as teachers, grandparents, relatives, baby-sitters, parents of friends, etc. where there would be all the basic every-day living kinds of situations as well as basic trouble-shooting for those inevitable “what-if” moments, but not too exhaustive and overwhelming.

I have written a few rough drafts of this guide and would to have it edited, refined, and available to those families that could surely benefit from something like this, but I am clueless about how to get it “out there”.

I remember growing up with diabetes, my parents RARELY went out for adult time because they were afraid of leaving me with just any baby-sitter or relative.  I was a “complicated” kid to care for given my medical needs because of diabetes.  I am not a parent of a child with diabetes, but I can certainly imagine how scary it would be to leave your child with someone who doesn’t know much if anything about diabetes.  This guide solves that problem.

So dear readers, how do I get this out there where it can be used?

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

