Catch 22

To become a certified diabetes educator (CDE), one needs to accrue 1000+ hours of diabetes self management education (DSME).  That means you have to be paid (volunteer opportunities do not count) to educate people about caring for their diabetes.  Here’s the problem.  Most diabetes related jobs require the very certification that you can only gain through paid work educating PWD’s (people with diabetes).  If I do not have said experience yet, and all jobs that would allow me to gain such experience require the certification I am attempting to work towards, how does one become a CDE?

I have the professional part down, being a registered nurse with 2+ years experience in nursing, I have the diabetes thing down at this point after living with type 1 diabetes for almost 20 years now yet I can’t seem to put it all together for the actual certification that would allow me to fulfill my dream of working with kids with diabetes.

I feel that having grown up with diabetes myself (diagnosed at age 8), I would be able to uniquely empathize with and relate to those children that I would be caring for.  I also think that the parents I would also be working with would feel comforted seeing someone who has come through the other side and become a successful adult living with diabetes.

About triciamoore2

I am a registered nurse and aspiring CDE - I have had type 1 diabetes for 20 years now. Any questions, feel free to send me a message.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

